Hi from Oslo, Norway!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hi from Oslo, Norway!

Post by Darkamber on Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:27 am

I'm Darkamber, also known as Amber Drake.
I'm 48 and live in Oslo, Norway. I'm single and share my flat with a cat called Max.
I used to be a librarian and an archivist, but currently I'm on disability.
My interests/hobbies are reading books and comics, watching tv series and films, in the genres fantasy, horror and science fiction. I like to draw and paint, and have a webcomic which I update once a week. I like to knit. I like playing computer games like The Sims and World of Warcraft. I also like playing old fashioned roleplaying games with my friends.

I prefer to call myself a Pagan, rather than a Heathen. I'm a Forn Sed Pagan, a devotional, hard polytheist, a Lokean godspouse and nun, and a freestyle magickian.

I've been a Pagan since my early 20s. I started out as a soft polytheist, worshipping the Goddess in Her aspects as Bast and Sekhmet. I never felt I really connected with Them, though. From my early 30s until my early 40s I was more a agnostic Pagan. I believed there was a higher, divine force that had many faces, but I wasn't 100% sure.
When I was 31, in 1997, I was visited for the first time by a male spirit who'd cuddle with me in the early mornings when I was half awake and in a state of hypnagogia (the deep trance state between being asleep and being awake). He never spoke to me, just held me.
In 2010, I felt that I had become stuck in my life, on several levels. I had chatted a lot with a friend of mine who had Ares as a Patron god, and who worked with Loki. I understood that Loki was viewed as a god of change. I re-read the old Norse myths, and decided to invite Loki into my life in November 2010. Loki had been my favourite god since I first read the old myths as a child. A couple of weeks later, in December, Loki first appeared to me in a dream.