Hi, I'm Christine!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hi, I'm Christine!

Post by Just.Christine on Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:18 pm

Greetings and Well Met!

My name is Christine and I'm fairly new to Heathenism, but I'm no stranger to religion and mysticism. I don't think many people like these self-intros and I'm no exception. It feels like being the newbie on the job.

I'm 50 and female.
Divorced and on disability.
Owned by my two Siamese, Sage and Dusty.
I've lived in Kansas for a little over two years.
I lived in PA before that and have also lived in Florida, Arkansas, Nevada, and California-my place of birth.

I was raised in a brain-washy Christian fringe cult: The Jehovah's Witnesses. It's taken me decades to extract my whole being from that religion-and not without scars!-but I've managed at last.

I'm not sure if I found Heathenism or if Heathenism found me. A little of both, I think. As I read the Edda's I noticed an unusual amount of emotion coming from within me. Same for other books and things I've read on the Net. I was drawn to Loki immediately and one day [not a good day] out of sheer desperation I found myself throwing together a makeshift altar, making an offering to Loki of Poppy Seeds and a Xanax [hey, a bound deity could use something for pain and anxiety, right? That was my thinking at the time. Those were things that were important to me and that's why I chose to share them.] and pouring my guts out to him.

I've continued to study all I get my hands on and I've read the Troth Books. They're challenging to read and are more for reference for the more experienced person I'm thinking. There are things in it that assume you've met certain prerequisites. But with the aid of Google and my other Heathen literature, I managed to do quite well with them.

Guess that's all I have for now.

Christine